Anyone want a cookie?

School and life are at the peak of craziness and sometimes I just need to decompress and make something simple and sweet. COOKIES! Baking is my sanctuary, my release from life’s tight grip, my escape from formalities, and my ‘I know everything is going to be alright’ quick fix.

Last night I decided to bake up a special treat to take to my classes. Yes, I am the student that takes freshly baked cookies, cakes, muffins, and empañadas to class with me. No, it doesn’t help me get a better grade.

I had a bag of frozen cranberries, some left over chunks of chocolate, and crystalized ginger candy around the kitchen, so hey why not make some Cranberry Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies with a touch of ginger!

20121120-123149.jpg
Chopped dark chocolate

I like to use chopped chocolate over chips. The chocolate gets chopped into all shapes and sizes making it ooze through the cookie with chocolate yumminess.

20121120-123212.jpg
I try to get even pieces, but the flaky dust is the best!

Cutting cranberries can be tricky. I start with a small amount and keep adding a handful until I can give a good chop all around. You can also use dried cranberries, but when using chocolate the dried cranberries can make the cookies too sweet. Fresh cranberries give the cookie a nice tart taste that pairs well with the dark chocolate.

20121120-123222.jpg
Coarsely chopped frozen (or fresh) cranberries.

The recipe didn’t call for candied ginger, but I love it, so in it went! It adds an unexpected burst of spice and sweetness.

20121120-123237.jpg
Candied Ginger. You only need a little bit, since it can be an overpowering flavor for most people.

I like to keep my cookie dough in the refrigerator until I’m ready to use it. Put the bowl back in the fridge in between batches. Like pastry dough, you want your cookie dough to be as cold as possible to ensure an even baking in the oven.

20121120-123247.jpg
Mix it up!

I didn’t have any old-fashioned oats, so I used instant steel cut oats instead. I was worried it wouldn’t work out, but it gave the cookies a nice crunchy texture.

20121120-123256.jpg
Straight out of the oven!

Always let your cookies cool on a rack for at least 5 minutes before eating or packaging them.

20121120-123304.jpg
COOKIES!

This recipe is adapted from an Epicurious recipe. This batch should make about 30 cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Ginger Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup (packed) golden brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped candied ginger

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Have two large baking trays ready. Whisk flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in medium bowl to blend; set aside. Using an electric mixer (or by hand), beat butter and both sugars in large bowl until smooth. Beat in egg and vanilla. Scrap around sides of bowl to incorporate all the goodies.  Fold in flour mixture and oats and stir until blended. Stir in all chocolate chips, cranberries, and candied ginger.
  2. Drop batter by rounded tablespoonfuls onto prepared sheets, 2 inches apart. Bake cookies, 1 sheet at a time, until edges are light brown, about 16 minutes. Cool on sheets 5 minutes. While cookies are baking place bowl of batter in refrigerator until ready to use. Transfer to rack; cool completely.
Anyone want a cookie?

One thought on “Anyone want a cookie?

Leave a Reply

